top of page

Artist: Tracey Emin

When looking at Tracey Emin’s work I can take a lot of similarities that link to what I am doing as well as aspects that have inspired me, the way Emin integrates text into her work as well as using text and imagery to vividly create a story.

Similarly, a lot of Emin’s work makes me feel uneasy which is the exact feeling that I want my art to provoke, I think for me it is partly due to contrast which is the key element I am using in my work. Emin’s childlike drawing are reminiscent of the work of a toddler at first glance, however, if you look closer it is obvious that the drawing itself is dark and when paired with the text it can create an emotional story. Therefore, creating contrasting imagery between innocent drawings with adult content, paired with dark story telling through imagery and text. It is the feeling in result to Emin'

s art which inspire me and I will use similar techniques to provoke this feeling in my art.


F E A T U R E D  P O S T S
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
R E C E N T  P O S T S
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page