top of page

Assessment Post


The idea behind my work is to be able to present the thoughts and feelings that I have had when in sad or stressful situations so I can share the words that I took comfort in during these times. Using the everyday objects that I see as a canvas for my work to later place back into their natural surroundings creates a contrast with the objects now current environment as they are now painted black and contain my messages. Furthermore, using the idea of contrast to challenge the context between where an altered found object can be considered art and if an altered object is still able to fit back in their natural surroundings. Finally, I will use this contrast as a way for this object to stand out from the rest, this will hopefully catch the eye of the viewer, who will therefore read what is on said object; using this method for the viewer to see what I have to say will definitely catch them off guard and really make them think about what my art says and will hopefully provoke emotion or feelings from the viewer; i think this scenario is greater than the context of an art gallery where someone will read the work knowing that it is art and not think any further of what it means to them. My methodology throughout this project has been to create from raw feelings and instinct, rather than planning everything through first, taking slight inspirations and making them into something completely different and my own, this project consisted of a lot of trial and error to see what worked and what didn't, from these mistakes and ideas I have had many more ideas that come from these which has created a nice branch of ideas that all started from one place. This way of working has truly re-ignited my passion for art, new ideas and to create. These major artists have helped me along the way though this project, they helped me understand the context of my art and where it is relevant; Tracey Emin, Joshua Vides and Norman B. Colp, without tiny inspirations from each of these artists, my project wouldn't be where it is right now.

Artist Quote:

"There should be something revelatory about art. It should be totally creative and open doors for new thoughts and experiences." - Tracey Emin


F E A T U R E D  P O S T S
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
R E C E N T  P O S T S
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page